2016 Strength of Schedule

oakleaf

Reaction score
Lately I have been hearing that the Packers are a shoo-in for the 2016 post-season playoffs due to Strength of Schedule. The Packers go from having one of the tougher schedules in 2015 to the easiest of all NFL teams 2016 schedules based on their 2016 opponents’ combined 2015 winning percentage of 45.7%. You would think that would be to the Packers benefit, right? Not so fast...

In 2015, the top five teams going into the season with the hardest Strength of Schedule were the Steelers, Bengals, 49ers, Seahawks, and Cardinals. Four of five made the playoffs! (FYI: Broncos had the 10th toughest schedule.) The five teams with the easiest schedule were the Saints, Buccaneers, Texans, Colts and Falcons. Only the Texans made the playoffs!

The Packers Strength of Schedule is not a good determiner of whether the Packers will make the 2016 playoffs. Especially when you also consider that two of the Packers opponents were without their star QBs (Romo and Luck) which contributed to their poor 2015 records.

Last edited:
Good stuff Oak.
Also noticed the Packers are currently 12-1 to win the 2017 Super Bowl with only the Panthers and Seahawks in the NFC listed as stronger favorites.

I can tell you that no team has gone to the Super Bowl and then returned back to win it the following season since the early 1970's when the Miami Dolphins did it. So this does not fair well for the Panthers.

Good stuff Oak.
Also noticed the Packers are currently 12-1 to win the 2017 Super Bowl with only the Panthers and Seahawks in the NFC listed as stronger favorites.

I can tell you that no team has gone to the Super Bowl and then returned back to win it the following season since the early 1970's when the Miami Dolphins did it. So this does not fair well for the Panthers.

Denver won back to back 1997 and 1998.
NE did a few years back too. Did you mean no team has lost one year and gone back to win the next?