End Of Season Story.... Packers Upbeat On Future

Mark87

Carpe Diem
Admin
Reaction score
Website
wisconsinsportstalk.net
I’ve been writing about the Green Bay Packers full-time since 2008. That means I’ve been there for a lot of season-ending media sessions.

Other than 2010, when the Packers won the Super Bowl, the mood is usually filled with sadness and disappointment. With Aaron Rodgers at quarterback, every playoff loss was a failure at winning a Super Bowl. Months upon months upon months of hard work, of the cliché-but-true blood, sweat and tears, not leading to the ultimate reward. I’ll never forget 2011, when the Packers overwhelmed just about everyone in their path en route to a 15-1 record but were upset at home in the divisional round. Or 2012, when Colin Kaepernick and the 49ers destroyed the Packers. Or 2013, when they lost at home to the 49ers on a last-play field goal. Or 2014, when the Packers were on their way to the Super Bowl until disaster struck in Seattle. Back in Green Bay a day later, Brandon Bostick didn’t dodge a single question about the worst moment of his football life.
And on and on it went, from the run-the-table Packers running out of healthy bodies at Atlanta in the 2016 NFC Championship Game, to last year, with the unmistakable specter of the ending of an era when the Packers were eliminated by the Lions in Week 18.

It’s not just the losses that hang heavy. The team’s free agents face uncertain futures. Friendships and bonds will be broken.

Put simply, there’s nothing like the joy and jubilation of a winning locker room, of a group of men pulling successfully toward a final goal. There’s also nothing like the sour, sullen mood of a season that just ended, a group of men parting ways after spending just about every day together for the past five months.
Monday’s final locker room, no matter the disappointing ending of the playoff loss at the San Francisco 49ers, was different. Incredibly different.